Book Review : Kunal Basu’s The Japanese Wife


Hi,

In End of December, It was so cold Sunday and I want to sleep at least up to 12:00 noon. But due to some reason I was awake at 11:00 and picked up news paper to just eye around latest news. At that time, somewhere I seen something written good about Japanese Wife Movie directed by Aparna Sen which stars Rahul Bose and Raima Sen and movie is based on Japanese Wife novel written by Kunal Basu.

So I decided to read The Japanese Wife. I was very curious about the Novel and due to that curiosity, I read first title story “Japanese Wife” within 2 hours. Really it is amazing story and I was feeling very good about book. I was curious about next chapters (I already seen Content Titles). Basically Japanese Wife is collection of 12 short stories and name of first story is “Japanese Wife”.

I read all story one by one but I wasn’t feel same things as I was feel for “Japanese Wife” title story. There are some good stories like “Grateful Ganga”, “Lotus-Dragon”, “Snekecharmer”, “Father Tito’s Onion Ring”, “Miss Annie” and “The Pearlfisher” [I like “Japanese Wife”, “Snekecharmer”, “Miss Annie” most].

From each story, you can see maturity and explanation power of Author. Also you can see, Author taken care of very small things.

I didn’t like only one story and that is Lenin’s Cafe. I didn’t like concept of Lenin’s Cafe and also content is very confusing. Reader might get confuse due to unmanaged flow of story.

Overall, I wasn’t happy with book because I have lots of expectation from Author. I think, Book become popular because Aparna Sen is filming based on title story. Most of book content is like off-beat movie.

I am giving 2.5/5 rating to this book. 

Book Details

The Japanese Wife

The Japanese Wife

Name : Japanese Wife

Author : Kunal Basu

Country : India

Language : English

Genre : Short Stories

Publisher : HarperCollins (In India)

Buy : Amazon , Shopper’s Stop

About Book : By Author

This entry was posted in book review, Fiction, Short Story and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Book Review : Kunal Basu’s The Japanese Wife

  1. Pingback: Book Review : Love, Peace & Happiness + Author Talk | Ujval's Lounge

  2. Pingback: Book Review : Love, Peace & Happiness + Author Talk « Ujval's Lounge

  3. Avdhoota says:

    I have seen the movie ‘Japanese Wife’ and its touching,
    how could a girl become widow of a person whom she has never met.

    • shahujvaln says:

      Very Truely…

      I liked some stories (short stories) covered in Japanese Wife book but Title story, “Japanese Wife” is really good and interpreted very well….

      “How could a girl become widow of a person whom she has never met.”- Theme itself tell out of the box story. Though this will not happen in real life but prediction is too good..

Leave a Reply

