Book Review : ARANYAK: OF THE FOREST


Hi,

Before a week, my one friend sent me bulk of PDFs with titled “Something Good to read in Gujarati”. So I read “Antarang Incidents” by Kalpesh Soni and then I started to read Aranyak. Generally I am starting novel from first chapter but this time (!! Coincidently), I read preface and came to know, Actual book is in Bengali written by “Bibhutibhushan Bandyopadhyaya“. This book is translated in many Indian languages.

I read complete novel in 2 days or I can say, I read master piece in 2 days!!!… I completion of master piece, I started hunting about author and his works on Google but dissatisfy. Everywhere only one paragraph about author and list of his work [God knows, its complete list or part of work].

Aranyak is based on Bibhutibhushan’s long and arduous years in northern Bihar, where he came into contact with a part of the world that, even now, remains unknown to most of us. In Aranyak, Bibhutibhushan weaves visionary poetry with a stark and uncompromising documentation of the day-to-day lives of the dispossessed, subsistence peasants, penurious brahmans, migrant landless laborers and adivasis.

To this world the writer brings his own lifelong interest in the natural sciences and astronomy, his study of historical records and surveys and his familiarity with the lore of travel books. This classic novel will be of much interest to all lovers of literature and to those involved with environment/displacement issues.

I will purchase hardcopy of this classic  novel in some days.
I am giving 4.5/5 rating to this book.

 Book Details [Must to Purchase and Must to Read]:

Aranyak

Name: Aranyak

Author: Bibhutibhusan Bandyopadhyaya

Country: India

Language: English + Many Indian languages (Originally in Bengali)

Buy: IndiaClub, FlipKart

!!! Enjoy Reading!!!

This entry was posted in book review, Story and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.