Book Review : Unforgettable – The Kite Runner


Hi,

In my first post, I have mentioned that I have purchased “Kite Runner” in late 2008 and I have completed it in 2010. My lots of friend told me, It is sad story and not that much interested. so I also thought like them without reading single word of book.

And one day, I heard about “Kite Runner” movie and I thought, How someone can make film on uninterested novel and nominate for Golden Globe and Academic award? So I have decided to read it  and completed in 15 days. Yah it contains lots of dark shades but still it is masterful and unforgettable story.

Kite Runner” is story of Amir and his friend Hassan by eye view of Amir which includes lots of event, from the fall of the monarchy in Afghanistan through the Soviet invasion, the mass exodus of refugees to Pakistan and the United States, and the rise of the Taliban regime….

Some part of book:

– Eyes are windows to the soul

– There was a brotherhood between people who had fed from the same breast, a kinship that not ever time could break

– There is only one sin, only one. And that is theft. Every other sin is a variation of theft.

–  When you kill a man, you steal a life. You steal his wife’s right to a husband, rob his children of a father. When you tell a lie, you steal someone’s right to the truth. When you cheat, you steal the right of fairness. There is no act more wretched than stealing.

– A man who takes what’s not his to take, be it a life or a loaf of naan… I spit on such a man.

– A boy who won’t stand up for himself becomes a man who can’t stand up to anything.

– War doesn’t negate decency. It demands it, even more than in times of peace.

– Happiness is frightening because they only let you be happy if they are preparing to take something from you.

– Take two Afghans who’ve never met, put them in one room and in one hour they will find how they are relative.

I am giving 4/5.

Book Details:

Kite Runner

Kite Runner

Name: The Kite Runner

Author: Khaled Hosseini

Language: English

Genre: Novel

Buy: Amazon, Shoppers Stop

About Book: By Author

!!! Enjoy Reading !!!

This entry was posted in book review, Fiction and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Book Review : Unforgettable – The Kite Runner

  1. Pingback: Book Review : Burning Sapphires | Ujval's Lounge

  2. Pingback: Book Reivew : New Moon | Ujval's Lounge

  3. Pingback: Book Reivew : New Moon « Ujval's Lounge

  4. Avdhoota says:

    I can’t compare both his(Khalid’s) novels because both are best in their subjects.

  5. hi, which do you like better: The Kite Runner or A Thousand Splendid Suns? I really like the suns and I am yet to read the runner,,

    • shahujvaln says:

      Hi,

      If you like “A Thousand Splendid Suns” then you will like “The Kite Runner”. Actually both books are great material and perfact for literature student but I like “A Thousand Splendid Suns” more than “The Kite Runner”… “A Thousand Splendid Suns” contains more dark part than “The Kite Runner”. Also “A Thousand Splendid Suns” focuses more on life in Afghanistan…

      Let me know your view once you complete “The Kite Runner”.

      Thanks..

  6. Pingback: A Thousand Splendid Suns « Ujval’s Lounge

  7. Pingback: Operation Novel 2010 « Ujval’s Lounge

  8. Tina says:

    Its actually a brilliant book and I would give 4.5/5
    and if you enjoyed this book you will definitely love “A thousand splendid suns”

    • shahujvaln says:

      Thanks for comment…Initially I also thought to give 4.5/5 but then I have compared it with some other novels and decided to give 3.5.. But still I feel, it should be at least 4/5.. so Now updating it to 4 🙂
      Yah I enjoyed “Kite Runner” lot… I hope, “A thousand splendid suns” would be full of unforgettable and masterful theme…

Leave a Reply

