Book Review : Heartbreaks & Dreams! – The Girls @ IIT


Hi,

As I said earlier, This becomes trend. Each IITan and IIM pass out are writing novel (and sometimes they gives master work and so I read all of them :)). Till the date, we read numerous  novel from IITan and IIM. Protagonist of these novels is Male person. Why Girl is not as centric character? Or Still we are living in Man’s World? I had question before I read “Heartbreaks & Dreams! – The Girls @ IIT”. And I came through story behind “Heartbreaks & Dreams! – The Girls @ IIT” on Author – Parul Mittal . Here, Read some part of behind story (you can read full story read) on her words,

…One day my husband, who is one year my senior from IIT Delhi, brought home a fiction novel ‘Five Point Someone’. He said Chetan Bhagat had written the book and gifted him a copy. I was a bit surprised. For one, I didn’t know my husband was good friends with Chetan. No harm in the friendship, just that I was unaware. Second, Chetan was my batch-mate and he had written a book. Now, that was cool. I got very excited and read it cover to cover in a single night. I simply loved it. It brought back so many memories of the good, old college days. All of a sudden, I had this very strong urge to tell the world that we the girls also exist. I knew that the girls were a minority back in college, but I had been fighting for women equality all throughout. I had spent four years of my life at IIT Delhi and I was Chetan Bhagat’s batchmate. Surely I could write … if I tried hard enough. This is the thing with IIT folks, they are confident about everything. They think they can conquer the world. However, I had only written technical reports and research papers so far and creativity was not my forte. Besides, things change a bit once you get married and have kids. With work and two little girls, I just didn’t get around to doing anything else. I was struggling to strike the work-life balance…..

The female protagonist, Tanu, the only girl in her class, allows us a refreshingly different peep into hostel life, study schedules, exams, tournaments, college festivals and even crushes on seniors. The view from the eyes of the minority population, the few girls among the many many boys.

Novel becomes more interesting on each flip from first page but ending is little bit weak as I feel. I am giving 2.5 /5 to this book. Read this book it will not harm you :).

Book Details:

Heartbreaks & Dreams - The Girls @ IIT

Heartbreaks & Dreams - The Girls @ IIT

Name: Heartbreaks &  Dreams! – The Girls @ IIT

Author: Parul Mittal

Genre: Novel

Buy: Flipkart

!!! Enjoy Reading !!!

This entry was posted in book review, Fiction, Story and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book Review : Heartbreaks & Dreams! – The Girls @ IIT

  1. Shashank Garg says:

    Can i get a single pdf file on internet?
    If anyone knows it then please have a post ..
    thnakyou.

  2. Sayed says:

    Seems Interesting.. and you are right it became trend now a days after Chetan Bhagath every IIT and IIM Graduates are writing books.

Leave a Reply

