Book Review : If It’s Not Forever..It’s not LOVE



★ Avoid ★★ No Great Loss ★★★ Worth Reading ★★★★ Close to Masterpiece ★★★★★ Masterpiece


if it's not forever it's not love reviewName: It It’s Not Forever It’s not LOVE by Durjoy Datta, Nikita Singh
Genre: Romance Fiction Language: English Pages: 233
Published: 2012
My Rating: ★★★
Started: 15th Feb, 2014 Completed: 17th Feb, 2014
Total Reading Hour: 30 Hrs


Excerpt from Book:

When Deb, an author and publisher, survives the bomb blasts at Chandni Chowk, he knows his life is nothing short of a miracle. And though he escapes with minor injuries, he is haunted by the images and voices that he heard on that unfortunate day.

Even as he recovers, his feet take him to where the blasts took place. From the burnt remains he discovers a diary. It seems to belong to a dead man who was deeply in love with a girl. As he reads the heartbreaking narrative, he knows that this story must never be left incomplete. Thus begins Deb’s journey with his girlfriend, Avantika, and his best friend, Shrey, to hand over the diary to the man’s beloved.


If I’d only known,
That this is the last time we’ve met,
I would have stopped the break of dawn,
And stopped the sun to set.

If I’d only known,
That I wouldn’t ever see you again,
I would have framed a picture of you within,
To end my suffering, to end my pain.

If I’d only known,
That this is the last time I sit by your side,
I would have told you how much I loved you,
Keeping other things aside.

If I’d only known,
That we would never hold hands again,
I would have held them strong,
And never let anything go wrong.

If I’d only known,
That you would always stand my side,
I would have fought the world for you,
Breaking all the walls through.

If I’d only known,
That your love was true,
If I’d only known that you would come back soon,
I would have waited for you to come by.

If I’d only known any of this,
That you were what I was breathing for,
I would have breathed my last for you,
Seen you enough and bid you adieu,
While all I can do now,
Is sit here…
… and wait.
Love you.

If I’d only known.

What a beautiful poem..It’s so touching. I got goosebumps while reading it. I gave one more star to this novel just because of above poem. If you have read other Durjoy Datta’s novels then you will feel, story is repetitive. I love Deb & Avantika but I wanted something different and at some extent, they have tried to give different as they are focusing on dead man’s diary. But when it comes to Deb & Avantika, nothing new in story.

Some good lines from book:

  • Every day that I don’t see her, is a day not worth remembering. Because ever since I first saw her, she defines my life. [Pg 21]
  • I don’t know whether my love is shallow or unfounded since we have never talked. But unrequited, untold love is the purest form love. There is no pretence in that. [Pg 22]
  • Caring about what others think is the biggest jail one can put oneself in. [Pg 53]
  • When you know that your happiness is like a sacrificial lamb for the happiness of the person you care about, you should realize that you’re in love. The most incurable form of love. [Pg 114]
  • Being in love is difficult. [Pg 115]
  • And when you agree to hurt yourself for the happiness of the other, you know you’re never going to stop loving that person. [Pg 116]
  • The crushing helplessness you feel, when the person you love the most is hurt by someone else and you can’t do anything about, is one of the worst pains anyone can ever endure. [Pg 146]

Novel is not the best and so it’s not the worst. If you are reading Durjoy first time, then you go ahead and I bet, you will love it.


About Author:

Source [Wiki]: Durjoy Datta (born February 7, 1987) is an Indian author who writes romance fiction.He graduated from Delhi College of Engineering and then went on to do PGDBM in marketing from Management Development Institute.He has co-founded Grapevine India Publishers. He is the author of 6 runaway bestselling books. In 2009, he was recognized as a young achiever by The Times of India,he was also chosen as one of the two young achievers in the field of Media and Communications by Whistling Woods International in 2011. In 2012, he was one of the recipients of the Teacher’s Achievement Awards, joining the likes of Ranbir Kapoor, Anushka Sharma, Prahlad Kakkar among others. He has also spoken in various TEDx conferences in colleges across India. He was one of the highest selling Indian authors in the year 2011.


Extra Shot:

Keep love in your heart. A life without it is like a sunless garden when the flowers are dead.
– Oscar Wilde


!!! Enjoy Reading !!!

This entry was posted in book review, Fiction, novel review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book Review : If It’s Not Forever..It’s not LOVE

  1. Pingback: Book Review : Someone Like You | Ujval's Lounge

  2. Pingback: Books, Me and 2014 | Ujval's Lounge

Leave a Reply

