Yoga and Me


P.S. I am neither Yoga Guru nor expert in Asanas. I am just like you, average person who does Yoga for personal benefit.

YOGA.. As far as I remember, I started doing Yoga when I was in sixth class. Yoga was part of “Physical Training”(P.T.) subject. I did Yoga till my tenth class as a mandatory subject and from there, I got interest in Yoga.

When I was in tenth grade, I had to find silent space where I can sit and read without any intervention. I found peaceful space but it was such a small place that I cannot move my legs easily. I did my extensive reading (almost 4 hours daily for 6 months) at that place which resulted pain in my knees. After final exam, I did Yoga (specifically Padmasana) for an hour in early morning for a month and freed myself from knee pain.

Padmasana / Lotus Pos

And since than, I am doing Yoga everyday (almost everyday :)) for an hour.

I do some 8-10 Asanas like Padmasana (Lotus Pose), Bhujangasana (Cobra Pose), Matsyasana (Fish Pose), Sarvangasana (Shoulder Stand), Halasana (Plow Pose), Shavasana (Corpse Pose), Vajrasna (Adamintine Pose), Ardha Matsyendrasana (Half Lord of the Fishes Pose), Paschimottanasana (Seated Forward Bend) and Sirsasana (Headstand).

Yoga is a physical, mental, and spiritual practice or discipline. They are largely followed and described in Hinduism, Buddhism and Jainism but not limited to any religion. According to me, its health science. Many places, Yoga is considered as an alternative medicine or exercise specifically in case of Anxiety, Depression, Dementia and Back Pain. Asana is one part of Yoga. Others are Yama, Niyama, Pranayama, Pratyahara, Dharana, Dhyana and Samadhi.

I have started Pranayam recently. I must say, I feel fresh and full of energy whenever I do Yoga or Pranayam. Though, I am not regular but I want to be (next thing on my list 🙂 ).

And Yah,  Happy International Yoga Day in Advance.

[images from:www.yogamoo.com, http://baldyogi.com]
This entry was posted in Random cool stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yoga and Me

  1. Hey! I too have been introduced to yoga in my eighth class and since then the practice has been quite irregular. But whenever I did it, my energy stayed uplifted for day-in-day-out. And on this International Yoga Day onwards I have included Yoga as a daily ritual. Glad you posted your thoughts on it.

    • Uj says:

      Hello,

      Welcome to Ujval’s Lounge… Glad to know that you started Yoga regularly. I am also on same way and feeling difference.. it’s refreshing…

      Keep it up 🙂

Leave a Reply

